• Chair, City & Metropolitan Planning
  • Affiliated Faculty, Global Change & Sustainability Center
  • Professor, City & Metropolitan Planning

Professional Service

  • Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning. Role: Western Regional Representative. Represent the western universities on the ACSP governing board. 2019 - 2021

Honors & Awards

  • Faculty Award for Excellence in Service. College of Fine and Applied Arts University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2016
  • J Frederick Miler Award for Distinguished Service. University of Illinois YMCA, 2015
  • Larine Y. Cowan Make A Difference Award for Teaching and Mentoring in Diversity. University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign, 2015
  • Best presentation at the IlliAAC, Racial Microaggressions in Academic Advising (with Micah Heumann). Illinois Academic Advising Conference, 2015
  • STAR (Service Together Achieves Results) Community Partner Honoree. City of Champaign, Illinois, 2013
  • National Education Honor Award (with Lynne Dearborn and Laura Lawson). American Institute of Architecture , 2004
  • Marsha Ritzdorf Award for Best Student Paper on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Urban Planning. Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning, 1998

In the Media