• Editor, IEEE Electron Device Letters, Elect & Computer Engineering, IEEE
  • USTAR Professor, Elect & Computer Engineering


  • Ph.D., ECSE, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Project: Characterization of Semiconductors Using Acousto-Electric Interactions
  • M.S., Electrical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Research Summary

Nano-electro-mechanical systems (NEMS), nano devices and molecular electronics, metrology tools, microwave-AFM for bio-nano-info, and novel fabrication techniques.


Massood received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1984 and 1986, respectively. In 1987 he joined the faculty of EECS department at Case Western Reserve University.

He was a fellow at NASA during 1992, on Sabbatical at Harvard University during 93-94, and at Yale University during 2000-2001. Massood is  a USTAR Professor of ECE at the University of Utah, Electrical and Computer Eng. Department with adjunct appointment in Bioengineering Department. He is currently (2015-2016) on Sabbatical in UC Berkeley EECS Department.

His current research interests include nanometrology (microwave-atomic force microscopy), molecular electronics, novel devices based on solid electrolytes, sensors and actuators (microfluidics), and quantum computing. His teaching interests include development of courses in the area of electronic device physics and electromagnetics with an emphasis on solving problems and the use of computer-aided instruction tools. He is author of three books, two book chapters, more than 110 journal publications, and numerous conference proceeding articles. He has introduced and chairs many international symposia in his fields of interest.

Dr. Tabib-Azar is a recipient of the 1991 Lilly Foundation Fellowship and he is a member of the New York Academy of Sciences, IEEE (Electron Devices), APS, AAPT, and Sigma Xi research societies. He has also received more than 10 certificate of appreciation and recognition for his professional activities and a best paper award from Design Automation conference in 2001 for his work on electromagnetic properties of interconnects and defects in ICs.