Research Summary

This research program focuses on the exploration of spin-dependent electronic processes in condensed matter, including spin-dependent charge transport and recombination but also spin-injection and spin-transport in presence or absence of charge transport. Goal of these efforts is to allow for coherent spin motion detection of small spin ensembles as needed for materials research and single electron or nuclear spin readout devices as needed for quantum information science.


  • Diplom, Physics, Ruprecht-Karls-Universit├Ąt Heidelberg
  • M.Sc., Physics, North Carolina State University
  • Ph.D. (Dr. rer. nat.), Physics, University of Marburg


Born and raised in Oppenau, a small town in southwest Germany, near the eastern French city of Strasbourg. Following High School, an undergraduate degree in electrical engineering, and fifteen months of civil services in Germany, caring for disabled people, he studied physics at the University of Heidelberg from 1994 to 2000. He won a Fulbright Student Scholarship in 1997, which brought him to the US and North Carolina State University, where he obtained a M. Sc, in Physics. Thereafter, he worked at the Hahn-Meitner Institute Berlin, a German national laboratory. He finished his dissertation as a graduate student of the University of Marburg in 2002 and continued working at the Hahn-Meitner-Institut Berlin for three years as a postdoctoral researcher.

He moved to Utah in 2006 to join the U's Department of Physics as an Assistant Professor. He was promoted into the rank of Associate Professor and awarded tenure in 2010, promoted to the rank of Professor in 2013 and he served as Associate Chair of the Department of Physics & Astronomy from July 2010 until August 2015. Since 2019, he has served as Chair of the Department of Physics & Astronomy. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society since 2023 and has been awarded the Silver Medal of the International EPR Society for Physics and Materials Science as well as the University of Utah's Distinguished Scholarly and Creative Research Award, both in 2018.