Henry White
  • Distinguished Professor, Chemistry

Research Summary

Electrochemistry and electric phenomena at interfaces; ultra-low current measurements and single-molecule detection; electrocatalysis and organic electrosynthesis; protein ion-channel and nanopore methods; electrochemistry of nanobubbles; energy storage materials; and electrochemical imaging microscopies.


  • Bachelor of Science, Chemistry, UNIV NORTH CAROLINA
  • Doctor of Philosophy, Chemistry, UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT AUSTIN


Henry S. White received the B.S. degree from the University of North Carolina (1978) and the Ph.D. degree in chemistry from the University of Texas (1983).  Prof. White studied under the direction of Allen J. Bard at Texas, working on solar energy conversion using transition metal dichalcogenide photoelectrodes.  Following a postdoctoral appointment at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he joined the faculty of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota, where he was the McKnight and Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering.  In 1993, he moved to the Department of Chemistry at the University of Utah where he is a Distinguished Professor.  Prof. White has published ~300 peer-reviewed articles, chapters, and patents, and served as an Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society from 2001 to 2016. Current research interests include high-field transport in nanometer-wide electrochemical cells, DNA structural analyses using protein ion channel recordings, the formation and stability of nanobubbles, and transport phenomena in nanopores. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is the recipient of the Faraday Medal from the Electrochemical Section of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the C. N. Reilley Award of the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry, the D. C. Grahame and Carl Wagner Awards of The Electrochemical Society, and the American Chemical Society Analytical Division Award in Electrochemistry.  Prof. White served as the Dean of the College of Science at the University of Utah (2014-19), and as Chair of the Department of Chemistry (2007 – 2013).